Sunday, October 4, 2020
Home News Politics ODM Purge begins as MPs are dewhipped

ODM Purge begins as MPs are dewhipped

- Advertisement -

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) has began its purge on members perceived to be disloyal to the party’s agenda in Parliament.

The party, through it’s chairman Mr. John Mbadi, announced that a parliamentary group meeting had resolved to remove the Deputy Minority Whip Chris Wamalwa who is also Kiminini MP from his position. He will be replaced by Tongaren MP Eseli Simiyu.

Mr. Mbadi also announced that Likoni MP Mishi Mboko will replace Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa who was ousted from the powerful Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC).

The changes will take effect when Parliament resumes its sittings in June. The Minority whip, Mr. Junet Mohamed, will only be required to inform the Speaker of Chris Wamalwa’s replacement.

As for Aisha Jumwa, the process of removing a member of the Parliamentary Service Committee is different and will take longer.

In their communication, both the ODM Chairman Mr. John Mbadi and NASA’s chief whip Mr. Junet Mohamed were categorical that the purge was meant to ensure every member tows party lines as they prepare for the reading of the budget and the much awaited constitutional reforms.

The NASA coalition parliamentary group which was held at parliament building also resolved to support President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga in their push for constitutional reforms.

The meeting was the highest attended Parliamentary Group meeting by NASA MPs with 108 of the 135 NASA MPs attending and passing a unanimous decision to dewhip the disloyal members of the coalition.

Taking to social media after her ouster, Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa was defiant, posting a cryptic message on her twitter account seeming to be in response to her ouster.

- Advertisement -



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Total confirmed cases
Updated on October 4, 2020 9:43 pm